Stella Maris swimming pool
>>> Swipe to see next review >>>

Calming and relaxing holiday house

We stayed in this house for 6 nights and had the best time. The amenities allowed us to relax and fully switch off from our usual lives. The house itself has everything you need and the beautiful garden with hammocks and sunbeds is a huge plus. The shared pool is refreshing and overlooks the entire bay. The landlord was very proactive and easy to communicate with – everything worked out perfectly for us.

Ulrikefrom Zürich, Switzerland. Reviewed in August 2018 for a stay in July 2018.

Total relaxation in an idyllic setting. Warm welcome of the inhabitants

I highly recommend this place to share a moment of relaxation with the family and discover the way of life of the inhabitants! The setting is beautiful and the fish restaurants are a great value!

Détente totale dans un cadre idyllique. Accueil chaleureux des habitants

Je recommande fortement cet endroit pour partager un moment de détente en famille et découvrir le mode de vie des habitants! Le cadre est splendide et les restos de poisson sont d un super rapport qualité prix!!!

Mélaniefrom Brussels, Belgium. Reviewed in July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We can fully recommend this house

This villa and Maio have far exceeded our expectations … the location of the villa overlooking the sea with a breathtaking view was just gorgeous. If you are looking for peace here is in perfect hands. Philip and Roger take care of everything and provide you with all the information you need. The house is very clean and tidy. The furnishings are in very good condition and the kitchen contains all (or more) utensils than you need. The beautiful beaches are within easy walking distance and the shopping for self-catering are in the immediate vicinity. We can fully recommend this house.

Wir können dieses Haus uneingeschränkt empfehlen

Diese Villa und auch Maio haben unsere Erwartungen weit übertroffen… die Lage der Villa direkt am Meer mit einem atemberaubenden Blick war einfach traumhaft schön. Wer Ruhe sucht ist hier perfekt aufgehoben. Philip und Roger kümmern sich um alles und versorgen einen mit allen nötigen Informationen. Das Haus ist sehr sauber und aufgeräumt. Die Einrichtungsgegenstände sind in einem sehr gutem Zustand und die Küche enthält alle (oder mehr) Utensilien, als man benötigt. Die herrlichen Strände sind leicht fussläufig zu erreichen und auch die Einkaufsmöglichkeiten für Selbstversorger sind in direkter Nähe. Wir können dieses Haus uneingeschränkt empfehlen.

Saschafrom Berlin, Germany. Reviewed in June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The perfect way to end our Cape Verde tour!

The house is wonderfully quiet in a kind of “gated community” of other holiday homes – with a very well-kept garden and especially a fantastic view of the sea. It is pleasantly uncluttered, light and airy with a modern bathroom. The breakfast terrace is wonderful, the infinity pool was lovely and so was the little “private beach” just down the stairs. Perfect for relaxing after a Cape Verde tour.

Der perfekte Abschluss unserer Kapverden-Rundreise!

Das Haus liegt wunderbar ruhig in einer Art “gated community” von anderen Ferienhäusern – mit einem sehr gepflegten Garten und vor allem einer traumhaften Aussicht auf das Meer. Es ist angenehm reduziert eingerichtet, ist sehr hell und luftig und hat ein modernes Bad. Die Frühstücksterrasse ist wunderbar, der Inifinty-Pool herrlich und der kleine “Hausstrand” nur eine Treppe weiter unten. Perfekt, um sich nach einer Kapverden-Rundtour zu erholen.

Kathrinfrom Berlin, Germany. Reviewed in May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Here the guest is still valued

The villa is in a great location, overlooking the sea where the whales swim! Several were seen directly from the terrace. There were problems with the arrival because the flight time was changed and we had to re-deploy. Philip organized everything so that we could take the ferry and “accompany” us on the journey. He was accessible via WhatsApp the whole journey and gave us great support. It would not have been possible without him. Even Roger and Caro are very helpful and help where they can. Here the guest is still valued.

Hier ist der Gast noch was wert

Die Villa ist toll gelegen, Blick aufs Meer wo die Wale schwimmen! Mehrere direkt von der Terrasse aus gesehen. Es gab Probleme mit der Anreise da die Flugzeit geändert wurde und wir umdisponieren mussten. Philip hat alles organisiert, dass wir die Fähre nehmen konnten und uns auf der Anreise “begleitet”. Er war per WhatsApp die ganze Anreise über erreichbar und hat uns super unterstützt. Ohne ihn wäre das so alles nicht möglich gewesen. Auch Roger und Caro sind sehr hilfsbereit und helfen wo sie können. Hier ist der Gast noch was wert.

Kerstinfrom Bad Fallingbostel, Germany. Reviewed in May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fantastic

The house, the fantastic pool above the sea, the small sandy bay below animated and calming at the same time all the senses. The island of Maio, the loneliest of Cape Verde with the friendliest people, makes humble, stressed, spoiled Europeans. At home, the “importance” is now ranked differently. At some point we stay longer.

Christinefrom Waidhofen, Austria. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Views for miles – a very cool abode

Philip’s hospitality is second to none, extremely efficient at communicating and organizing logistics. The home is airy, spacious and provides plenty of entertainment (pool/beach) and facilities to make one feel at home after a full month on Maio. Many thanks.

Maxfrom Lancaster, UK. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Beautiful exclusive Villa

A perfect place to have a quiet holiday, just between the plants and trees and to have a look over the ocean. The house is well equiped, have good beds, a good bathroom. The garden is partly out of the wind of the ocean and gives a more comfortable feeling at some times of the day than other bungalows on the edge of the park nearby the sea. A swimming pool within 20 steps makes it complete.

John and Fokkafrom Santpoort-Noord, Netherlands. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Great place

Great place, clean, nice set-up (tables, couches, beds, outside area), great place to enjoy the small town and to explore the rest of the island. The small town is a small walk, but easy to do. Grocery also just around the corner. We enjoyed our holiday very very much. Thank you Philip!

Lucasfrom Amsterdam, Netherlands. Reviewed in March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

‘…we would love to come back’

Maio is a lovely Island and we enjoyed our stay there very much. The house manager, Caro, was super helpful in all things large and small which made a big difference to us. Philip responds fast and thoughtfully and we felt that both were keen to give us a good experience. Thank you – we would love to come back.

Karinfrom Alleroed, Denmark. Reviewed in February 2018.

Thanks for a great stay

Philip, Roger and Caro were absolutely helpful in all matters! No question remained unanswered and Caro even managed to track down my missing suitcase – in Lisbon! The house is exactly as described and Maio is a great get-away. The private boat transfer from Praia to Maio went as planned, and no other transportation method of our holiday has been organised so smoothly as the boat – thumbs up! Thanks for a great stay and all the best to you!

Sannefrom Rinn, Austria. Reviewed in December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Very nice house, spacious and with a superb view

All the information given by the owner is very precise and the answers to our requests have always been very fast. Thank you
Air conditioning in the room would be nice.

Tres belle maison, spacieuse et avec une superbe vue

Tout les informations données par le propriétaire sont très precises et les réponses a nos demandes ont toujours été très rapides. Merci
Une clim dans la chambre serait appréciable.

Response:

DearJean Pierre,

Thank you for your review, we are glad that you had a great holiday.

Air conditioning is not normally required and the ceiling and standing fans are effective.

Sincerely

Philip

Jean Pierrefrom Vias, France. Reviewed in November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great vacations in Maio

We had great vacations in Maio. The stella Maris village is very well located in Maio village and Philip’s house is one of the best in the village, great view, nice garden, very well equipped. We fully recommend to stay here to pass a few days or more in Maio!

Sylvainfrom Merville, France. Reviewed in November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We like it absolutely very much

Philip even took care of us just before of our arrival. Our communication together was perfect and he answered always asap and very quickly. The transport from the airport Maio to the house and back was managed perfectly. Also the house manager was always very friendly and helpful. The house itself was in best condition and also the garden was so nice prepared and maintenanced. All in all a highly recommendation for spending a peaceful and quiet time at Maio. Thanks a lot! We liked it absolutely very much!

Detleffrom Kirchlindach, Switzerland. Reviewed October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The villa is so cool it has everything

We loved hanging out at the villa as it was very hot in Maio. We ate on the terrace with the cool sea breezes, sound of the crashing waves and views all the way to Santiago. The kitchen is well equipped and we bought fresh fish down on the beach to cook. It was delicious. The swimming pool is great to cool down in too and never busy. You can see all the way down the coast to the big beach as you swim. Amazing. We felt very safe and well looked after. A fun and relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. Oh and the garden… how did you get it that so right whenthe climate is so dry. Very clever. The town is nearby for supplies but it is good to be a bit apart from it. Lovely walk down to the main beach which has to be one of the best we have been to. Maybe two or three other tourists .. incredible. Thanks

Sarah and Dimasfrom UK & Cabo Verde. Reviewed October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wonderful holiday on a dream island

The house was class, we knew in advance that there was no air conditioning. The fantastic beach was only 5 min. walking, people extremely friendly and open minded. The service for the renting of the house was exemplary and also on the spot one knew always in good hands.

Wunderbarer Urlaub auf einer Trauminsel

Das Haus war Klasse, dass keine Klimaanlage da war wussten wir ja im Vorfeld. Der traumhafte Strand war nur 5 min. zu Fuß, die Leute extrem freundlich und aufgeschlossen. Der Service um die Anmietung des Hauses war vorbildlich und auch vor Ort wusste man sich immer in guten Händen.

Jochenfrom Elmshom, Germany. Reviewed September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stella Maris is a quite and nice property

We had a very pleasant stay in the house at Stella Maris in Maio. The view from the house/garden over the ocean is amazing. The house was clean & tidy and the arrangements like airport transfers were well organized. The communication with Philip is very good; we could ask all the things we wanted to know and he replied on very short time. Stella Maris is a quiet and nice property and has great swimming pool. The house has a nice garden and situated near the ocean. Maio is a nice island with friendly people; it is very relaxing and you feel welcome there.

Nicolefrom Brunssum, Netherlands. Reviewed in May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A house with a view and much more

We’ve stayed in many places, but this house was exceptional in many ways: Response to our inquiries was immediate and efficient. Organisation on our arrival and departure was personalised, efficient and professional. The location unique in a secured environment, an outstanding ocean view, local plants in a delightful garden, the opportunity of accessing directly down to the sea from the salt water swimming pool’s terrace. A spotless well designed interior with a direct access to a paved terrace. We can recommend this house as a near to ideal rental property.

Laurette and Edouardfrom Switzerland. Reviewed in April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Wonderful place

Stella Maris-Village is a good place to relax on the Island Maio. Its in walking distance to Vilo do Maio, to the main-beach, to some restaurant with French- or Italian cooking. Philip’s house is exactly as the pictures shows; to sit at the table outside, having lunch, or diner with for example fresh fish from the fisherman, in front of you a wonderful quiet garden and with a fantastic view to the sea, is great. The house is for self-catering well equipped. It was clean and well cleaned-up once a week. The internet is very good. Also fantastic is the saltwater-pool, nice to swim, and this private sandy-beach, very close to the house. We recommend to rent a pickup-car to see the northern part of the Island. Philip’s house is a place worthwhile to be there during travelling the Island Maio. Thanks’ Philip for announcing and organising everything with a proper documentation and map where to go, what to find etc.

Danielfrom Switzerland. Reviewed in March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Brilliant place to stay

Fantastic communicator. Always available for advice etc.

Neilfrom Mereworth, United Kingdom. Reviewed in February, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Absolute holiday feeling guaranteed

We stayed in the fine residential complex Stella Maris in the house of Philip a fantastic holiday. The pictures of the house are absolutely realistic. The house lacks nothing and it is absolute holiday feeling guaranteed. The facility is top with a great pool and well looked flair. The information from the owner of the house and the island are great and facilitate the stay. The Island of Maio’s not for vacation and star-traveler. For connoisseurs of peace with a sense of hospitality and an open eye for island residents but an absolute dream holiday. The beautiful beaches and the sea are wonderful and you can not get enough of it. At Philip again a thanks for the great day in his house.

Absolute Urlaubsfeeling garantiert

Wir verbrachten in der feinen Feriensiedlung Stella Maris im Haus von Philip einen fantastischen Urlaub. Die Bilder des Hauses sind absolut realistisch. Im Haus fehlt es an nichts und es ist absolutes Urlaubsgefühl garantiert. Die Anlage ist Top mit tollem Pool und gepflegtem Flair. Auch die Informationen vom Besitzer über Haus und Insel sind prima und erleichtern den Aufenthalt. Die Insel Maio ist nichts für Pauschal und Sterne-Hotel-Urlauber. Für Genießer von Ruhe mit einem Gespür für Gastfreundlichkeit und einem offenen Auge für Insel und Bewohner jedoch ein absoluter Urlaubstraum. Die traumhaften Strände und das Meer sind wunderbar und man kann gar nicht genug davon bekommen. An Philip nochmals einen Dank für die tollen Tage in seinem Haus.

Ralf and Martinafrom Neureichenau, Germany. Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

5 stars

The house is located in a place of splendour. Under the sea, at night you hear the waves, very relaxing. The pool is great. The nets (?) in the garden are a must-have.

5 estrelas

A casa está localizado num sítio de esplendor. Sob o mar, durante a noite ouvem-se as ondas, muito relaxante. A piscina é óptima. As redes no jardim são um objecto imprescendível.

Carolinafrom Cape Verde. Reviewed in July 2016 for a stay in July 2016http:/

5 of 5 stars

Lovely Apartment on a lovely island! We stayed in this great Apartment during our easter holiday in March 2016. Good space, great view, nice pool and a hidden secret Beach just Down hill from the pool. Close to walk to mini-supermarket, restaurants etc. We were a Group of friends staying at the Apartment, but it is suitable for families as well. We really loved Our stay here.

Marit and Martefrom Oslo, Norway. Reviewed in May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Really awesome !!

We where in this beautiful house for a couple off days in February. Our family lives on the island and we liked to sleep in the house. Nice garden with a great view. We sleeped with 2 adults and 1 child in the house and there was allot of space. A big living room with a music system, kitchen and three bedrooms. in the garden there a 2 sunbeds where you can relax and this we liked the most. There was a calm atmosphere what we really liked!! The location of the house is good. you can walk from the house to the supermarkt and the beach. Maio is really calm and relaxed. it’s a strange but nice experience to go to this island. It’s so differrent but really nice. I cannot explain in words how nice the house was but there was a really good atmosphere. Next time we go to Maio we would like to rent the house again. The owner Phillip is really nice and good accessible by email. I can recommend everyone to go to Maio and this beautiful house !!!

Sterrefrom The Netherlands. Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Super villa ideally situated near coast and local restaurants

Super villa with wonderful views over sea. Villa has all basic equipment for self-catering and local shops very close. The property is well maintained and very clean. Infinity pool which is just behind property is also clean and very well maintained and has fantastic view over sea and bay. Easy walking distance of local restaurants which provide a mouthwatering array of fish and some meat dishes. The Maio people are friendly and helpful. The local contact for the villa also has all the information you require for local activities.

VMPfrom The UK. Reviewed in February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Peace and quiet

My wife and I spent 10 wonderful days in this villa. It’s within a small development of villas on a cliff overlooking the sea with a shared infinity pool. Philip has kept it in great shape and has most of the essentials for a great relaxing holiday given the difficulties of sourcing anything other than food and drink on the island. It will shortly have a new shower fitment that we took out for him. It does however desperately need a BBQ for the barmy nights. The main selling point of Maio is its isolation and that’s the reason we went there. Imagine 5KM of totally unspoiled beach with not a soul to be found. Imagine sleeping out in the sand-dunes under the totally unpolluted sky full of stars, the sand is so warm that you only really need a groundsheet to keep the sand off you. Then there are the humpbacked whales that come so close to shore that you don’t need a boat to view them. I think that’ll give you the picture and if that’s what you’re looking for then I can’t recommend this more highly. It is a real pain to get to though mainly down to the chaotic schedules of TACV the local airline and their planes that seem to fly when the pilots decide to turn up. Even taking that into account you have to constantly check online for “schedule” changes. It’s still worth the effort though for all the island’s and the villa’s benefits.

Chrisfrom Hastings, United Kingdom. Reviewed in January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is the place to stay at Maio

This is the place to stay at Maio! The vacation home is placed at Stella Maris within a gated community – which is not absolutely necessary at Maio but for sure will give you an addtional feeling of safty. Plus the conveniences you get – if there is any question you can reach somebody at the office and they will help. The pool is wonderful. The house itself has great views at the ocean and is equipped with everything you need. We expected this vacation to be a “once- in-a lifetime-kind-of-experience” but we know now after staying there for two weeks we will come back if we get a chance to stay at Philip’s house… Philip is a perfect host – he will support you in every thinkable way and Mr. Sakty the caretaker at Villa Maris is a very special treasure – you shouldn’t miss the island tour guided by him! If you are looking for a place with hardly any tourism Maio is the place to go and Stella Maris will make your stay most enjoyable!

Franz and Ellenfrom Hamburg Germany. Reviewed in September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautifully appointed, well equipped and well designed

The apartment couldn’t be faulted. The owner has obviously responded to feedback from previous clients as everything I could have wanted was available. The garden was pretty and well maintained, All the applicances worked. The villa itself was well designed, airy and spacious. The complex is well maintained and such a great position for views and walking into town and going to the beach. For my teenager it was paradise, endless sunny days of fishing, swimming in the infinity pool, riding the surf on the beach and making local friends. Our neighbours in the complex were friendly and the staff at the complex very helpful. A great holiday. We didn’t want to leave and will be going back. I am recommending it to everyone I know.

Sarahfrom Bournemouth, UK. Reviewed in May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent stay

In fascinating Maio, a detached quiet, cool, fully equipped, tastefully furnished, close to the village and to the beaches … probably one of the best of the whole island … the owner is a very precise and correct.

Soggiorno eccellente

Nella affascinante Maio, un villino tranquillo, fresco, attrezzato, arredato con gusto, prossimo al paese e alle spiagge…probabilmente uno dei migliori dell’intera isola…il proprietario è una persona molto precisa e corretta..

Liviofrom Italy. Reviewed in July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Away from it all but with the comforts of home

Whilst this villa is on an island in the Cape Verde archipelago that requires a little more effort to reach than some, it is worth the journey when you get there. Set in a development of tasteful and well-managed villas complete with shared infinity pool and gorgeous sea views, this house is well-kept, excellently equipped and a peaceful haven which we settled quickly into and, after a week there, felt like we didn’t want to leave. The town is on your doorstep and Villa da Maio itself is a charming, cobbled street filled, sleepy place but with enough bars, restaurants and markets to keep you supplied with the essentials of life. The host (in the UK) and the managers were very caring and communicative and we were supplied with a plethora of tips and advice that were very useful. All-in-all a great place to stay if you like peace, relaxation and somewhere a little bit different.

Response:

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is kind of you to take the time to write it. I am off to Maio myself in two weeks and am really looking forward to it. I am so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the house and location as much as I do. All the best, Philip

Carlafrom Brighton UK. Reviewed in April 2015

Lovely villa in a superb location

This was my second – and I hope not my last – visit to this lovely villa in a superb location.

The villa is on a cliff top overlooking the Atlantic and ideally located between the small town centre of Vila do Maio and the beautiful beach at Ponta Preta. This beach has miles of golden sand and is almost deserted.

The villa is well appointed and has a beautiful garden, which includes a shady verandah as well as a sun terrace. There is a small infinity pool just a few steps from villa.

The villa is an ideal, ‘get away from it all’ location and I would complement the owner on the quality of the accommodation and the exceptional, personal service he offers.

I only return to places I like. It was so good the first time I went, I had to go back. I look forward to the next time.

Response:

Dear Roger,

Receiving your review was lovely, receiving you twice even better.

Thanks so much for coming, we hope to have you again in the not to distant future.

Sincerely

Philip

Rogerfrom Worthing, UK. Reviewed in December 2014

A wonderful place to take a break from everyday life

This well furnished Villa has a very beautiful and manicured garden with a wonderful view on the ocean. There were two comfortable sunbeds and a hammock – both with view to the Atlantic. A generous living room with big glass windows, two sleeping rooms, one of them with view to the pool and the ocean too and two extra beds above the kitchen. The infinity pool was right beside the house, only some meters from the garden. There were never more than 2-3 other people, most of time we’ve had the pool exclusive. From the pool you can step downstairs to a little beach. In a 10 minutes walk you can reach the city-beach, which is wide and a good place to snorkel or to have a drink or eat something at the beach. The village where you can buy everything you need is a 5 Minute walk away. There are several restaurants (local, Italian) within a 5-15 minutes walk distance too. A wonderful place to take a break from everyday life.

Response:

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments. We are so pleased you had a great holiday. I think you must be the first guests to change your flights in the middle of the holiday to stay longer. Its a great compliment :o)

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards

Philip

JuttaReviewed in August 2014.

We found a paradise in Maio

We were looking for relaxing and peaceful holidays with our two-year old and our teenage girl and found a paradise in Maio! The island is the place to go to enjoy life far away from stress and civilisation. The house was everything we needed, facing the ocean you are constantly rocked by the waves, it is clean and extremely convenient. The property is very well maintained, the little garden is neat, we felt like at home. The swimming is breath-taking and even gets a children’s pool, the access to the private beach is definitely a plus. The owner has been very attentive towards us even though we only exchanged by e mails, our arrival and our stay were organised and we felt welcomed. Lovely family holidays, our kids enjoyed those two weeks!

Response:

Dear Sarah, Thanks so much for taking the time to send some feedback. Hearing you have had a great time truly makes everything we do worthwhile. Lets hope the island of Maio remains simple and lovely for many many years to come…

Philip

SarahReviewed in August 2014

Incredibly blue sea and the kilometres of empty sandy beaches

This year the 4 weeks’ vacation in Maio was even better than last year! There were no sandstorms. Sometimes these can delay your flights (the flights are only twice a week from Praia). The village Stella Maris was quiet and comfortable. All the beaches, especially the small beach (50m) are quite near for swimming. The house managers were helpful and took care of all we needed including checking our return flights.

Maio was greener than last year and you could pick wonderful ripe passion fruits when they dropped from the roof! The house itself is suitable for many persons; two different bedrooms and the loft give peaceful sleeping for everyone. The house is smart and cosy and on the walls there are wonderful paintings of Nanette Scriba (famous German singer and painter). Unfortunately there are no African or European TV channels, at least to watch news of Cape Verde. These are being installed in June 2014.

Weather in winter is always good: sun is practically shining every day, temperature is warm enough, winds are blowing moderately (only sometimes too much from Sahara desert!), sea is incredibly blue and the kilometres of sand beaches are almost empty… The people are friendly and if you speak a little bit Portuguese it helps a lot. The island is not full of tourists; it means also that there is not too much entertainment but if you like to relax it’s a paradise!

Thanks to Philip it was so easy (again!) to rent this house and get information about Stella Maris and Vila do Maio!

Response:

Thanks for taking the time to send the review. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Philip

Erja and JukkaReviewed in February 2014

Everything the photos on the website promise

Maio is great, and Stella Maris village definitely the best place to stay on the island. The villa is fantastic: well equipped, lovely garden, spectacular views – everything the photos on the website promise. The pool is stunning and the little beach is lovely. Stephen and Jeanette (the local caretakers) looked after us very well; they arranged a car for us, and we had a trip around the island, and we also did some diving with Stephen, which was exceptional. Philip arranged everything for us, punctually and efficiently, including booking and paying in advance for our internal flights from Praia to Maio, without which organising the logistics would have been extremely difficult. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else on Maio.

RobertReviewed in January 2014

Simply Excellent

Bon Dia ! Villa Stella Maris is the only place you should even think to stay if you come to Maio It’s completely like the pictures look but of course they can’t even begin to do the real thing justice. The view is phenomenal from the Villa’s patio, we sat on it for hours reading and talking while enjoying a glass of local wine. The property care takers Jeanette and Stephen are an enormous help, upon arrival they can show you around town and where to get things – like cold beer! such a help. The owner Philip is very easy to contact and went above and beyond in those communications to get our transport to the island taken care of, enough can’t be said about the dedication he has to take care of his renter’s and help them in any way he can. Overall our trip to this tiny island was amazing and being able to come back to the Villa at Stella Maris every night truly was the “icing on the cake” – I would refer this (and have) to any of my friends, family or acquaintances thinking about heading to the Cabo Verde Islands.

Response:

Dear Bryan & Casey

Thank you the sending your review. I must say it was quite a challenge choreographing everything but the end result was absolutely worth it. There were times when we thought that you guys weren’t going to make it. We have decided that we no longer call the people that make it to Maio tourists. You’re now labelled explorers! Not only did you make it, you had a great time, posted this lovely review & got engaged!! its the icing on the Maio island cake.

Congratulations and thank you from us all.

Philip

Bryan and CaseyReviewed in April 2013

Best place to stay in Maio

We – that is my husband, our daughter (3 1/2 years old) and myself – totally fell in love with Maio and after talking to the few other tourists we met at the island is our conclusion: Stella Maris is the best place to stay there.

After our arrival Stephen and Jannette (the house managers) walked around with us and showed us where to eat, where to buy food, bakery, fish-market, post office, just everything… This made our stay in Vila do Maio much easier as we don´t have to waste time for looking around for these things. The villa looks even better (you wouldn´t expect that) in real than on the photos. Ad once you feel at home. The villa was very clean and perfect equipped, even with Tupperware, which was very useful while doing a tour at the island.
The view from the Villa is just lovely and the pool a nice ad one.
To book the villa was because of Philip so easy. Thanks a lot. He always answered the emails very quick and also helped us booking the local flight from Praia to Maio via a local travel agency without charging extra (that is very unusual).
Thanks for making our holiday so special!

Response:

Dear Tanja, Ilja & Indira

What can I say, we are absolutely thrilled that you have enjoyed your holiday so much. We are big Maio fans & I know it shows through. We realise it is not the easiest place in Cape Verde to get to, I am so pleased you made it.

Thank you for such a heart warming review

Philip

Ilja, Indira and TanjaReviewed in December 2012

A lovely villa in a stunning location

The booking process was straightforward and painless, and the service received was excellent. Getting to Maio can be a little tedious with the flights from Praia to Maio not always running to schedule. We were met at the airport and taken to the villa. The villa is well appointed and has a very attractive garden. The location is stunning, sitting on top of cliffs, with views over the Atlantic and generally facing west, with beautiful sunsets. There is an infinity pool just a few meters from from the villa, which also overlooks the Atlantic. Maio is not a sophisticated island and does not provide the entertainment that might be expected at a popular tourist resort, but there are good restaurants and well positioned bars on the main beach. Shops are not always well-stocked, so be prepared to ‘make do’ with the limited produce that is available. The shops are not always obvious as some consist of people selling from their front rooms. It is advisable to talk to the villa managers, who can help you locate things you may not otherwise find. The people are exceptionally friendly and will say hello or ‘Ola’ to you as you pass them. There is little traffic and there appears to be no crime and children run around the streets in a carefree manner. The beaches are wonderful, with golden sand and you can walk for miles and not see anyone. This villa makes the perfect destination for a ‘get away from it all’ holiday and can be well recommended.

Response:

Dear Roger, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, your helpful words will inform others. I hope TACV (the local airline) run a little more to schedule for your return. See you again in the not to distant future…

Philip (Owner)

Rogerfrom Worthing, UK. Reviewed in September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Wonderful time

Let me say our stay in Maio was wonderful. Too short, due to our need to travel around the Islands. Stephen and Jannette, the couple in charge to manage the accommodation, acted as perfect chaperones, driving us in discovering the village and giving additional directions for our comfortable stay. We told them that their way to manage is a good demonstration of “customer care”. We were completely satisfied. The villa was very comfortable, the set was superb, and falling asleep with the ocean’s sound moving inside. This would be the reason to return in Cape Verde. We experienced some problem with electricity, due to the community generator was not properly working, but it contributes to the island’s atmosphere and we enjoyed it anyway.

Response:

I am so please you enjoyed our lovely little island. It is not the easiest place to get to but so worth the extra effort. It has remained one of the most unspoilt places in Cape Verde & is as charming as the people who live here. I have passed on your message to Stephen & Janette. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again one day.

Philip (Owner)

Paolofrom Italy. Reviewed in August 2012

Wonderful place for undisturbed relaxation

You really should make the effort, and come to Maio, a hidden treasure of the Cap Verde Islands. We were heartily welcomed at the airport, and taken to the villa. A very comfortable, neat, tastily furnished & with all facilities equipped house. Beautiful garden, the sea view is just amazing. Just take out one of the hammocks ( it was by far the most comfortable hammock i was ever laying in) and enjoy the view. Or swim in the pool, use the private beach with good snorkelling possibilities… During our stay we were taking good care after, the manager is more than helpful, and can provide a lot of useful information about the island. Maio and this villa are the perfect location to relax and to spend a great holiday. You are away from the crowds, and get the chance to experience the Cape Verde way of living, and come in contact with the locals. Many of beaches offer excellent swimming possibilities, they are also perfect for a walk. You can buy cheap, delicious fish everyday at the market, and prepare it at the villa, just perfect! Communication with with the owner very good, very reliable. Definitely recommended!

Kathrinfrom Austria. Reviewed in February 2012

A very pleasant place

We were very warmly received and taken care of both the couple taking care of the place and the owner. Peaceful place, yet just a couple of minutes walk from the town and the closest restaurant(s).

Ollifrom The Netherlands. Reviewed in 2012

A nice place to live !!!

Sorry but our ” evaluation ” will be in french ( nobody is perfect ) more than pleasant stay in the villa, it is easy to live close to the village and restaurants … Philip is an attentive host … nice touch and we recommend + + + Maio is ideal for enjoying the passing of time and its inhabitants adorable … Nathalie and Yvan

Sorry but our ” evaluation ” will be in french ( nobody is perfect ) séjour plus qu’agréable dans la villa, elle est facile à vivre, proche du village et des restaurants… Philip est un hote attentionné et au contact sympa…nous recommandons +++ Maio est idéale pour profiter du temps qui passe et de ses habitants adorables… Nathalie et Yvan

Nathalie et Yvanfrom France. Reviewed in March 2012

Calm and peaceful

Location near the city of Maio is very good. Calm and peaceful. Very nice house with all the tools necessary to live very well. We were a family of 6 (2 adults-4children) and it was very easy to live at this adress. People in Maio are friendly and life is very smooth. I probably would charge the electricity, water and gas as separate cost instead of an all included total cost.

Isabellefrom Canada. Reviewed in December 2011

Fantastic as always

This was our 3rd stay in the property within a year. It is much improved even since our last stay in April. Interior has been repainted. Garden has been beautifully landscaped. Extra ceiling fans added. Security Safe installed. Sliding mosquito nets installed on windows. Laptop and internet dongle available. Mobile phone.

The Infinity Pool is amazing. Location is perfect… a 2 minute walk to a small cove beach or 3 minutes to the town.

An excellent break from the hustle and bustle of modern life.

Will recommend this to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet – only the gentle sound of the sea hitting the cliffs below disturbs your siesta in the hammocks provided !

Paulfrom the UK. Reviewed in November 2011

What a lovely, peaceful, beautiful villa…

After a recent visit to Cape Verde, we didn’t know what to expect when we went to stay at Stella Maris. What a lovely villa, the description on their web page was certainly accurate. The infinity pool was seconds away and the beach a few minutes down private steps. If you like snorkelling then this is the place. Fresh fish was also available from the locals at the harbour. We were collected from the airport and looked after during our stay. The views were great and it was so peaceful and quiet. It was value for money and we are certainly recommending it to our friends.

’Derek’’from”